Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Do you have both (SSD & HDD) running on your mac at the same time?

• Total voters

juniorbattle15

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Jul 6, 2017
Hello everyone!!

I have a Macbook Pro Mid 2013 with 750gb HDD and a CD drive. I wanted my make my computer faster so I was thinking about switching out my CD drive with a SSD. Had a question on this mini project.

1. Is there a way to run both HDD and SDD at the same time?

I want to run the applications on my SSD (so that way everything opens up faster) but wanted all my downloaded files (movies, docs, pics, est.) on my HDD. Im a college student so I cant spend that much money on a SDD or else I would buy a 1 TB SSD. My plan was to have applications such as Microsoft word being runned on SSD and once im done with that file, I would like to save it on my HDD. That way I dont use up a lot of space on my SSD.

If anyone has tried this before, please let me know how you did this setup.

jerryk

macrumors 604
Nov 3, 2011
SF Bay Area
I assume this is a classic MBP Pro 13 the 2012 model (non-retina), bought in 2013 If so, it should work just fine.

• Get a Disk Doubler or similar adapters that lets you put a disk where the CD drive was. $30 or so.
  • Install either the SSD or hard drive into the doubler
  • Stick SSD into remaining disk slot.
  • Install OS on SSD
  • Boot and enjoy your speedy new system.
My bias would be to install the SSD where the current hard drive is and put the old drive in the old CD slot, but it will work either way since both your connectors are 6GB sata.

treekram

macrumors 68000
Nov 9, 2015
Honolulu HI
As mentioned by the previous poster, you must have the mid-2012 MBP (or earlier). I have the mid-2012 MBP and an OWC Data Doubler, although I have SSD's in both slots. My comments would be: