Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Lastgreen

macrumors member
Original poster
Oct 19, 2017
hello everyone in the final moments of deciding which MacBook Pro 2017 to buy. I wanted to know which model would be best (planning to keep this for 5 years. I'm wondering if the touch bar would be best since it has a higher cpu speed and 4 USB C ports + the touch bar. I'm a medical student hence won't be using final cut

Elcompa

macrumors member
Oct 31, 2016
NC, USA
Not sure if this is any help... I finished my doctorate (business, not medical) on a 2016 ntb 8/256 stock model. Lots of research, spreadsheets, a dozen tabs open at once, and at least one very large spreadshet and a a few documens as well. Although I would say that having several large spreadshets open at once for reasearch did seem to slow it down a bit, all worked fine. I love my 13 inch ntb 2016. There were only a few times where perhaps I might have liked more than 8 of RAM, but I'm not really/even positive about that. The CPU speed was never an issue, nor was the 256 SSD. I hope this is somwwhat helpful.

As I understand the 2017 ntb has a faster CPU and slightly faster RAM...so I would think you would be fine. There was simply no way I was ever going to figure out how to incorporate the touchbar in my work, so I never even considered it.

Last edited:

davetwo

macrumors newbie
Nov 29, 2016
The touchbar is a PITA. Avoid the extra expense unless you really need the horsepower

NukeDuke

macrumors member
Apr 6, 2017
Depending on how you use your Mac but I think the TB is pretty great. Particularly when using word processing or writing in messages.

Some people are certainly not comfortable with using it as they do not want to have to get used to something different.

eddjedi

macrumors 6502a
Sep 7, 2011