Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

circatee

Contributor
Original poster
Nov 30, 2014
Georgia, USA
On 13th May, I bought a MacBook Pro 13". I've been saying for years, I'd get a Mac one day (been a Windows user my entire life, and I'm an IT Support Manager, too).

I've also been looking at the iMac 21" or 27" (to be honest, 27" might be too large).

Obviously, the difference between the iMac and MacBook is that one is portable. Besides that, would one lose anything if moving from a MacBook to an iMac? I'm mainly thinking from a speed and memory perspective...

varian55zx

macrumors 6502a
May 10, 2012
San Francisco
Well, MacBooks come default with fast SSDs and some iMacs will come with a platter hard drive as default. SSD's provide a far better user experience.

If you do most of your computing at home I imagine you'd prefer to have a desktop, they're far more ergonomic.

I have both but easily prefer my desktop iMac 27 inch.

Depending on the MacBook it could also have a better processor than one of the 21.5 models.

Also, 21.5 iMac doesn't have user upgradable ram and only has integrated graphics. You already mentioned you don't have it but one of the 15 inch MacBooks comes with a dedicated graphics card.

There's probably more to cover but that's some of it.

Reactions: circatee

circatee

Contributor
Original poster
Nov 30, 2014
Georgia, USA
...thanks for the replies. Currently, at home I have an HP Z600 Workstation. A beast of a machine, with a 500GB SSD, and a second hard drive (SATA), for backups. Do I need that beast, probably not.

I mainly use my computer for browsing the Internet, Office 2016 applications, Quicken, VPN and RDP.
I've always wanted a Mac, of some sort, and I'm in a position, currently, to purchase one.