Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

stumblingfalk

macrumors member
Original poster
Jun 14, 2021
Hi

Ive used SyncBack on Windows for many years to mirror/sync my video and photo archives/folders between my NAS and my laptops (Im a photographer/videographer). Its reliable, and even the free version is feature rich and generally never skips a beat and ensures I have solid backup of the latest revisions of the files on a RAID 5. I let the sync run every night, i.e. its not a live sync setup.

I will be transitioning from Windows to one of the new MBPs as soon as it gets delivered. Which good software alternatives to SyncBak are there for Mac?

MikeDr206

macrumors 6502
Oct 9, 2021
I like Resilio Sync. We use it to sync in real time across four Macs. It “just works.”

there is a version for Synology NAS, which we used to use. It works so long as files aren’t created on the NAS. if a file is created on a Mac, it’ll sync just fine to the Synology (and from the Synology to another Mac), but if you create a file on the NAS directly, it won’t sync for whatever reason.

Resilio has versions for other NAS brands too.

Reactions: stumblingfalk

MikeDr206

macrumors 6502
Oct 9, 2021
Also, I’ll add that it’s incredibly robust. Works well even when Internet connectivity drops out, such as when hot spotting over LTE or on meager hotel WiFi.

stumblingfalk

macrumors member
Original poster
Jun 14, 2021
Thank you!

I'll look into it. Sounds like it might not be exactly what I'm looking for but that it might still have the simple featureset I need.

One don't want to go about experimenting wildly with these kinds of softwares. One mistake or oversight and suddenly you've deleted all your stuff :D

MikeDr206

macrumors 6502
Oct 9, 2021