Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

venusian

macrumors member
Original poster
Mar 22, 2008
I'm new to this DSLR game, and I was after some thoughts on how best to achieve macro shots.

I've got an olympus e520 and the wonders of google have shown i've got three options, Extension tubes, 35mm Macro lens and Macro Filters.

Of the three, Macro Filters is obviously the cheapest, and no doubt gives the lowest quality result. but what i cant seem to find info on is how bad is it? Like compared to zooming/cropping if it were to be printed A3 size or so.

So guru's should i experiment with filters or save my pennies for a new lens

S-Man

macrumors regular
Feb 1, 2009
Houston
I'd say save the pennies. I'm not sure about Oly gear, but a good Canon Macro lens can be had for around $350 (which is cheap in the world of camera gear).

FX120

macrumors 65816
May 18, 2007
I'm new to this DSLR game, and I was after some thoughts on how best to achieve macro shots.

I've got an olympus e520 and the wonders of google have shown i've got three options, Extension tubes, 35mm Macro lens and Macro Filters.

Of the three, Macro Filters is obviously the cheapest, and no doubt gives the lowest quality result. but what i cant seem to find info on is how bad is it? Like compared to zooming/cropping if it were to be printed A3 size or so.

So guru's should i experiment with filters or save my pennies for a new lens

One thing I wouldn't do is buy a 35mm macro unless you've got the equipment to light your subject correctly when it is less than an inch from the lens. Personally I wouldn't go for anything shorter than 65mm for a macro.

From what I have read macro filters aren't exactly macro, usually the magnifcation improvement over the host lens is marginal.

Extension tubes are probably your best bet, paired with a longer prime if you can't find a longer dedicated macro.

venusian

macrumors member
Original poster