Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

B.A.T

macrumors 6502a
Original poster
Oct 16, 2009
Idaho
I'm pretty new to dslr cameras and am about to buy a new lens. I want a lens that will let me take good closeup shots of flowers and is also good for portraits. I'm not really interested in photos of small insects. Two questions:

1) While the 90mm lens may allow me to get "closer" when taking shots of flowers, wouldn't a 60mm do the same thing if I just put the lens closer to the flower?

2) Which lens would you prefer for portraits? My gut feeling says use a 60mm but I'm interested to hear what people with experience have to say.

Patriks7

macrumors 65816
Oct 26, 2008
Vienna
If you could provide some information like what camera you have, would make this much easier.
If you are not planning on taking pictures of any insects and things like that, just plants and portraits, the 60mm will be better. But if you are thinking of taking pictures of things like bees and spiders, the 90mm would be better, because it allows you to be further away from the subject.

compuwar

macrumors 601
Oct 5, 2006
Northern/Central VA
I'm pretty new to dslr cameras and am about to buy a new lens. I want a lens that will let me take good closeup shots of flowers and is also good for portraits. I'm not really interested in photos of small insects. Two questions:

1) While the 90mm lens may allow me to get "closer" when taking shots of flowers, wouldn't a 60mm do the same thing if I just put the lens closer to the flower?

2) Which lens would you prefer for portraits? My gut feeling says use a 60mm but I'm interested to hear what people with experience have to say.

For macro of living things, the longer the focal length, the better, as it gives you more working distance. For that reason, my preferences are: