Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

ProwlingTiger

macrumors 65816
Original poster
Jan 15, 2008
Hi,

I'm an avid photographer, semi-pro in both shooting, and editing. I love photography, and I'm taking some classes in college, attending seminars, etc. This year I made the switch to Mac. I can honestly say I've never felt anything like it, coming from a guy who loves everything tech. It handles my photos in ways that I once only dreamed of with Windows, but thats beside the point.

I successfully run a few websites, mostly others' for businesses and what not. But now I feel its time for me to create a photo website of my own. What I mean by "photo website" is a site that gives bio info, and galleries of good shots. I've never made anything of the sort, aside from using a few simple gallery scripts, and I'm wondering if anyone here as experience in this area and would be willing to lend advice. I have a general idea of how I'll make the project, but suggestions from seasoned gallery builders would be great.

-Dan

ProwlingTiger

macrumors 65816
Original poster
Jan 15, 2008
Yeah, I'd prefer to use something a bit more than just a blogging software.

miles01110

macrumors Core
Jul 24, 2006
The Ivory Tower (I'm not coming down)
A while back I was of the same mind- "Oh I'll just use some CSS and maybe some flash to make nice photo galleries." Turned out it was just a pain in the rear, so I ended up paying for a smugmug website- http://www.smugmug.com . It's much easier, and their customer service is fast and helpful. It is well worth the "standard" service I participate in, but if you were looking for a little more you could buy their professional options that allow a little more customization.

If you decide to go for it, let me know and I can give you a coupon code for a $5 discount.

onomatopoeia

macrumors 6502
Dec 9, 2007