Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Dman77

macrumors member
Original poster
May 23, 2009
London, UK
Sorry, three questions rolled into one to save starting numerous threads!

Has anyone ever made any money from their photography as an amateur? I'm not expecting to do so but have been looking at Picturenation and Photium and they seem to be a good idea, put your pictures up and maybe one day you may sell one or two.

I'm thinking of setting up a website anyway, I'm new to photography and would like somewhere to showcase anything half decent that I may do. I do have Mobile Me and iWeb/Dreamweaver, but I don't know how easy it is to set up a shopping cart if anyone wanted to buy anything.

Anyone got any experience of this?

TheReef

macrumors 68000
Sep 30, 2007
NSW, Australia.
If your uploading to stock photography sites you'll need a lot of photos, thousands to make a descent amount of sales.

Heh, I'm starting this too - I've got 4 of my best up so far and obviously haven't made any sales, they've been on for about a month and have no views to give you some perspective. You'll read about people making their first sales after they've uploaded around 500 images sometimes. I hope to reach that by the end of this year it takes time:)

Note a shopping cart system requires some form of scripting, eg PHP which MobileMe has no support for. The best you could do with MobileMe is a showcase gallery type thing and organise sales some other way.

joro

macrumors 68020
Jun 11, 2009
Virginia