Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

akdj

macrumors 65816
Original poster
Mar 10, 2008
62.88°N/-151.28°W
I have been an amateur photographer for too many years now (20:)) and am ready to make the "Pro" move! I have been producing audio and video for the last two decades, but always been more of a hobbyist when it comes to photography....and now, digital photography.

I am considering adding the "Wedding" photography element to our business and kicking around the idea of a 5D MKII as a primary camera. I am shooting with and have been shooting with the entire XXD series, excluding the 50D. I have the 40/30D combo right now, but started in the family with the 20D. I would like to keep the 40D on one shoulder, the 5D2 on the other. I don't have any L glass yet, but I do have several decent lenses....

The 28x135 IS that came with the 40D, the Canon 70-300mm f4/5.6IS, Sigma 10-20 f4/5.6, and the new Sigma 50mm f1.4 EX HSM prime.

I would like to buy the 5DMK2 kit with the 24/105 f4L. Also, add the EF 85mm 1.2:) OR the 70-200 2.8 IS. I cannot do both right off the bat. Considering the other glass I have for the APS-C gear, would I be better off forgoing the 24/105 kit lens.....go with body only and do BOTH the 85 and the 70/200 OR.....will I be happy for a while with the length of the 105mm with the 5D and the 85mm.....with the 40D for tele?

Sorry....not sure this makes sense, but my budget is about 5-5.5k. I really want the best possible setup for weddings with the best redundancy built in, just in case:) We have been shooting video for years, and nothing is worse than missing the shot, losing the footage, or having a failure on a cam during the big event.

Just curious what others shooting weddings are using.....Seems to me the 24/105 and the 85mm would be almost 95% of what I need for time being. 40 D for anything longer....just don't want any surprises:)

J

wheelhot

macrumors 68020