Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Daniel505

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Jul 12, 2023
Hello there! I've been using MBP 16'' M2 Max 19/38 32RAM/1Tb (Stock) for 3 months and I have some certain complaints from the perspective of my user experience. I'd like to know If by any chance I got mine unit malfunctioned or this behavior I describe further is normal? (Unfortunately in my region there is no apple official stores, only resellers and authorized tech service).

1) Battery life. My main complaint omg. Battery life imo is abnormally low. Like 4-6 working hours from 80% to 20% with light/moderate tasks and that's what I paid for rly?!...Apple commercial hello? 19 hours or so, not even close

Energy Mode: automatic (hell naw I gonna use LowPowerMode in 4KUSD machine with 60frames cap, dimming and stuff)
Brightness: 50%
HDR: off
Peripherals: satechi 3in1USB3.0A and midi keyboard connected to it only via 2.0 cable.
Work and background tasks open: Ableton Live 11 (Mostly) or Logic Pro sometimes, Safari with about 5-7 tabs open, some system monitoring apps like tgpro, istatsmenu, aldente etc.
bluetooth/airdrop: off
wi:fi: on

Most of the time I work with stock 140Wcharger plugged in controlled and configured by aldentepro like it stands like a desktop without discharging battery. And all my peripherals connected through CaldigitTS4 in this case.

Efficiency cores. Do they even work?!

Macbook is supposed to be a portable machine for work cases scenario. But I have interior feeling if I forget my charger brick I would die immiediately.

2) Temperatures. I mean obviously I know how things should work on a basic understanding of some principals like some processes demanding some loads and exhaust heat and stuff, and that M2 chips are hotter than predecessors since apple boosted up performance to 15-20% and added cores. My complaints are about some specific scenarios: