Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

coolchap

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Nov 9, 2016
Experts,

I am new to Mac, have never owned a MacBook, however planning to switch from PC to Mac as am fed up with windows. I am a software engineer who works on Unix platform day in & out. So, Initially was thinking to go with Ubuntu, however, i changed my mind to Mac.

Purpose:
I am planning to use mac for running VMs(probably windows 10) for compatibility purpose and use tools for ssh,scripting (Perl,Chef,Shell etc.,) purpose and of course, for personal usage to keep all personal information, photos, documents etc., and Web browsing etc.,

Reason :
I see windows are very weak in security, prone to viruses, poor performance etc., and need to install various virus software to keep it safe, whereas mac is better in security and performance(what I heard so far, but never experienced).

MBP 2015 or 2016.

I want to invest wisely that should benefit me for next 3 to 4 years, so i dont mind shelling good money, as i consider this as investment. so, i am planning to spend about 1.5k to 2.5k
While looking Mac 2015 and 2016, i felt 2015 is better in terms of performance,ports etc., but the only thing luring me is the touchpad although it is not a significant change, but looking at future usage as i will not buy another laptop in next 2 to 3 years.

Coming to size, I prefer 15" as it comes with quad core i7 although it is big and bulky.

Also, Please share the best way to buy (online or apple store)?

Please suggest or share your recommendations and experiences
Your inputs are much appreciated and means lot to me to take a wise decision.

Thanks in advance
coolchap.

CE3

macrumors 68000
Nov 26, 2014