Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Seekingshred

macrumors member
Original poster
Jul 4, 2017
I need some help from people maybe know about these 2 models which one to choose given I'm doing video editing.

Not sure if Kaby will win over skylake which has more ram? or I'm wrong?

Patcell

macrumors 6502a
Aug 8, 2016
Bergen County, NJ
I am not a professional either, by any stretch... but for video editing I would tend to go with the 2016 16GB option. Unless you really want hardware accelerated HEVC encode for your exports. Kaby Lake will give you that. Aside from this, however, Kaby Lake is more or less a refinement of Skylake. Not a huge uplift in performance.

Reactions: Seekingshred

Sterkenburg

macrumors 6502a
Oct 27, 2016
Japan
Unless getting Kaby Lake's 4K HEVC hardware decoding is an important factor, I'd go with 16GB RAM. Maybe it would help if you could be a bit more specific about your intended usage and the kind of video editing you'd be doing.

Reactions: Patcell

Samuelsan2001

macrumors 604
Oct 24, 2013
Yep as the others said if 4K HEVC coding is important to you then the 2017 is the way to go, but you'll probably want the dGPU 16gb and bigger screen on the 15 inch then anyway to be honest.

DarkSel

macrumors 6502
Dec 22, 2012
The 2016 models support 4K HEVC at 8 bits. You wouldn't be losing out on 4K if you went with the 2016 models.

New_Mac_Smell

macrumors 68000
Oct 17, 2016
Shanghai
Get the 2016, if you needed 10bit HEVC you wouldn't be here asking. And it's a long time away from being necessary for anything. Nice to have by all means, but it's like having an 8K TV at this point (Nothing to put on it...).

Seekingshred

macrumors member
Original poster
Jul 4, 2017