Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

restalize

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Jan 2, 2018
Hello to the community!

Im a UI Designer and work at home with an iMac mid 2010 and id like to upgrade and be portable.
Im having 2 offers at a greek forum which are both 1 year used and the only differences are:

1 - MBP Mid-2015 15" MJLT2LL, 2.5 GHz, 512GB SSD, 120 cycles battery. price: 1650 EUR
2 - MBP Mid-2015 15" MJLU2LL, 2.8 GHz, 1 Tera SSD, 80 cycles battery. price: 1990 EUR

Whats your opinion on this choice on the technical point along with their value?
are those 340 EUR worth the difference? i was thinking with those money plus few more
i could get a 27" 2k monitor so i can get more room.
Im an aggressive user using PS, AI, XD simultaneously and with few tabs on chrome. and id like them to be fast switching programs like folders.

Thank you in advance.

New_Mac_Smell

macrumors 68000
Oct 17, 2016
Shanghai
300mhz processor difference isn't going to be noticeable, the SSD size is the thing to be looking at there. I don't think you'd need a full terabyte but if you think you might then I'd go with that one for future peace of mind. Check if it's an original Apple SSD or a 3rd party though (I believe they're slower).

Reactions: ssmed

restalize

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Jan 2, 2018
Bigger ssd isnt so much a deal breaker for me i noticed 500 gb are OK for me ofc more is better tho i could use an external if i need more space. BTW i see rumors that says 1tera M2 ssd are "faster" than 500 gb M2 ssd is this true?

Check if it's an original Apple SSD or a 3rd party though (I believe they're slower).

how can i check this? tomorrow i ll meet with the "2nd" guy to check the mbp from close, what else should i check in a used mbp? ty

New_Mac_Smell

macrumors 68000
Oct 17, 2016
Shanghai