Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Jaybro764

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Nov 5, 2017
Hi,

I have a MacBook mid 2010 (White). I installed an ssd along with 8gb of ram. It is great for light web browsing, but it shows it's age in any other application. I am a sophomore in HS and currently enrolled in AP CS, going into AI next year. Running and compiling with eclipse is totally possible but its age shows when compiling programs. I plan on majoring in CS(or something similar in college) and I was looking at purchasing a MBP that I could use until I graduate from college. I was considering purchasing a tb 13 MBP 2017 with 16gb of ram, in order to future proof the device. My main questions are will it be adequate in 6 years from now, should I wait for another MBP update, and if to purchase, should I go all out of the 13inch model?

Thanks!

project_2501

macrumors 6502a
Jul 1, 2017
Hi,

I have a MacBook mid 2010 (White). I installed an ssd along with 8gb of ram. It is great for light web browsing, but it shows it's age in any other application. I am a sophomore in HS and currently enrolled in AP CS, going into AI next year. Running and compiling with eclipse is totally possible but its age shows when compiling programs. I plan on majoring in CS(or something similar in college) and I was looking at purchasing a MBP that I could use until I graduate from college. I was considering purchasing a tb 13 MBP 2017 with 16gb of ram, in order to future proof the device. My main questions are will it be adequate in 6 years from now, should I wait for another MBP update, and if to purchase, should I go all out of the 13inch model?

Thanks!

I don't think the 2017 MBP will physically last 6 years.

Here is my own detailed log of my experience with it - link.

ixxx69

macrumors 65816
Jul 31, 2009
United States
Hi,

Thanks!
Hi Jaybro,