Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Dr_Maybe

macrumors 6502
Original poster
Sep 17, 2003
South America
Right now my backpack with camera, 3 lenses and a MBP is. I want to save weight and space and get a lighter bag that I can carry around everywhere.

I use my computer for work, but the camera is just for fun. I'm not a pro photographer, but I like using proper equipment. The laptop that I am planning to get and use the bag with is a MacBook Air. Maybe one of the new alu 13" MacBooks, but I like the weight of the Air.

The camera is a 350D (aka.rebel xt) and I would at least need to hold a 17-40 f4L that would be mounted on the camera all the time. If it could hold more lenses that would be nice too.

Having tried a 5D I want one of those :D With the 24-105 f4L! With the mk2 there's video and also it seems that the of range of that lens on the camera is good for walking around and being a tourist. Reducing weight and keeping it simple - not needing to change lenses - is what I want.

So if I decide to get a 5D at some point I would want the bag to fit that as well.

It would be nice if I could have it over my shoulder and quickly just take the camera out of the bag to take a picture. And the same for the MacBook (Air): easy to just take it out of the bag.

Lastly it should be easy to use for travelling - going through airports, walking around in the city etc. Perhaps a little pocket for holding passport and tickets would be nice.

Westside guy

macrumors 603
Oct 15, 2003
The soggy side of the Pacific NW
I use a Crumpler Sinking Barge backpack. Crumpler does have some messenger bags that can be paired with what they term a "bucket", which is basically a padded insert for a camera and lenses - but I just think a backpack works better for this.

Dr_Maybe

macrumors 6502
Original poster
Sep 17, 2003
South America