Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

GoJohnGo

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Feb 18, 2022
I'm looking to migrate a PC Windows 10 installation to an NVMe drive (Samsung 970 Evo) on my 2010 5,1, and am looking for guidance on the best way to do it. Most of my searches just show how to install Windows, and the migration process in Windows doesn't seem as robust as Migration Assistant, so I'm thinking that cloning the drive would be a better approach. But going with the approach of just cloning the drive seems like it might cause chaos with drivers, and I'm not clear if Boot Camp will install over that. Then there's the whole Windows UEFI/Bootrom problem (which I'm still learning about) that I'd like to avoid.

I did try some experiments so far.
1. Booted the Mac from an existing Windows 10/Bootcamp SSD (used only for testing things out and not part of the ultimate installation) and ran Samsung Magician data transfer to clone that SSD to the NVMe drive (just to see if it would work). It ran without errors, but just hung at the transfer stage and never moved a byte.
2. Installed the NVMe drive in the PC and ran Samsung Magician data transfer to clone the HDD in the PC to the NVMe drive. That worked.
3. Moved the NVMe drive back to the Mac and option-booted. Interestingly, my Windows 10/Bootcamp SSD showed as "Windows" and the NVMe (now with the cloned PC drive) showed as "EFI Boot." After a couple of self-reboots, it booted okay. Some things (such as speakers) weren't working, but I expected that. I ran Bootcamp Setup.exe to install the Bootcamp drivers, which, after a reboot, got the speakers working.
I'm not yet clear why my Windows 10/Bootcamp SSD shows "Windows" and the PC clone shows "EFI Boot." Is that "EFI Boot" that's part of the PC clone potentially doing bad things to my NVRAM?

With all that said, what is the best/correct sequence to migrate a PC to a bootable NVMe on a Mac 5,1?