Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

smilinmonki666

macrumors regular
Original poster
Jan 20, 2008
Ok, I've just purchased the Nikon P6000 from Jessops. £329.00, not bad but the sales guy said how crap the Nikon's were compared to the Canon & they had the Canon D1000 on for £399.00. Was tempted but can't really push to that much, plus I brought this to take on holiday to Sardinia later this year plus weddings & other things comming up I thought I would stick to the compact. Now, getting home & with it out of the box in front of me & having a play with it, I feel cheated & now feel like the salesman has placed doubt in my my mind that the Nikon isn't really that good or up to the job. I will admit I am a complete novice with photography, but playing with my dad's Canon 450 DSLR; it doesn't feel right using a compact. I mean, my girlfriends got the Sony 8Mp camera phone, so I could use that as my compact. Am I being a snob, should I upgrade already as that was an option given by the salesman. 30 days to exchange he told me!? someone PLEASE HELP ME!?!?! I can go swap it tomorrow then. Thank you...

FX120

macrumors 65816
May 18, 2007
1000D is what I think he meant, in the US it is known as the Rebel XS.

smilinmonki666

macrumors regular
Original poster
Jan 20, 2008
Sorry, the salesman said it was the D1000. Oops. haha

I was just wondering whether I should get an DSLR or a Compact DSLR. But using the Nikon P6000 more, I do like it. I just had doubt put into my mind by the salesman thats all. I will eventually get an SLR, but will probably go for a Canon as my Dad's got one & friends also have Canon's with many type's of lenses between them.

Cheers for everyones help.

leighonigar

macrumors 6502a
May 5, 2007
If you want a small camera to carry with you everywhere and not look like a total nerd (or at least feel like one) the p6000 is a fine camera. Don't worry about jessops.

smilinmonki666