Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

hewhore

macrumors member
Original poster
Jun 26, 2014
Germany
I have tons of CDs and other files (bootlegs, music made by friends etc.) from USB sticks that I have slowly been importing in to Music.app for the last couple of weeks, and I'm just confused because I was only expecting to be able play those songs from the Mac I'd imported them on to. The majority of them are not available for sale in iTunes, and therefore would not normally be available via iTunes Match (I have an Apple Music subscription). Yet I am able to download the imported tracks to my iPhone and other devices. I'm not complaining, but I can't find any information about this anywhere. Tl;dr, I thought Apple Music tracks only synced across devices when those tracks were available in iTunes?

B/D

macrumors 68000
Mar 30, 2016
I have tons of CDs and other files (bootlegs, music made by friends etc.) from USB sticks that I have slowly been importing in to Music.app for the last couple of weeks, and I'm just confused because I was only expecting to be able play those songs from the Mac I'd imported them on to. The majority of them are not available for sale in iTunes, and therefore would not normally be available via iTunes Match (I have an Apple Music subscription). Yet I am able to download the imported tracks to my iPhone and other devices. I'm not complaining, but I can't find any information about this anywhere. Tl;dr, I thought Apple Music tracks only synced across devices when those tracks were available in iTunes?

No. Itunes Match fuctionality is fully included in the AM subscription . Therefore, you can upload albums which are not in the AM catalogue, or match your local files that are, and access them all, including the AM content that you have added to your library, from all your devices.

B/D

macrumors 68000
Mar 30, 2016
From Apple: