Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

E-Tech

macrumors member
Original poster
Mar 14, 2007
What are good sites to visit for tips etc I'm also a beginner and its my 1st camera.

Kamera RAWr

macrumors 65816
May 15, 2007
Sitting on a rig somewhere
I know you're looking for sites, but I do recommend you check out the Magic Lantern series of books, perhaps at your local bookstore. You could just read through in store and learn a lot about your camera. I used them when I first started, got lots of helpful hints. The sites Grimace suggested are very good. Lots of great tips there :)

E-Tech

macrumors member
Original poster
Mar 14, 2007
thank you, I just ordered the book by the author who you recommended.

I will visit those site tomorrow since its getting late but thanks. :p

nightsky

macrumors member
Feb 18, 2007
SA,Tx
Illustrated Tutorials

Adorama.com is a Camera Store in New York City and online, it has a nice illustrated D40 tutorial. I am new to digital photography too.

Mr.Noisy

macrumors 65816
May 5, 2007
UK™
Nice choice of camera E-Tech, i use Nikons myself, a good site to use is http://www.nikonians.org/
any advice at all on anything from histograms to the exposure comp, to bracketing, these are the guys to ask, a lot of Pro photographers on hand with great advice. :D

compuwar

macrumors 601
Oct 5, 2006
Northern/Central VA
I may cause a stir, but you can check out http://www.kenrockwell.com go to technical. he has lots of tips, including pages on the D40.

{STIR}
Just don't take everything (most?) of what Ken says as gospel. His reliability information-wise is shaky, he seems to get all his "inside information" from DPReview forums and he's very willing to say almost anything for the hits.
{/STIR}

BanjoBanker

macrumors 6502
Aug 10, 2006
Mt Brook, AL
A great site