Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

If you have CarPlay or have used it, how do you rate it?

• Excellent

Votes: 1 20.0%
  • Good

• Average

Votes: 2 40.0%
  • Poor

Votes: 0 0.0%
  • Very Poor

• Total voters

beanbaguk

macrumors 65816
Original poster
Mar 19, 2014
Europe
A couple of weeks ago I had a nasty shunt in my car so I've had to send it to the garage for repairs.

In the meantime, I've been renting a truly terrible Opel Corsa 1.4. While it drives like a dog and has less puff than my desk fan, it does have some interesting interior options including CarPlay.

I've never used CarPlay before so this was quite exciting for me and I thought I'd review it based on my experiences.

So, to cut to the chase, it's terrible - No really.....it is, and let me tell you why.

The interface
Obviously it's very iOS like and that's good. I like iOS, but there are barely any apps or functions available. Simple things like the outside temperature would be nice to have, (visible when you leave the CarPlay interface), and this is the big problem.

You have to continuously leave the CarPlay interface to change car settings or simply view trip information which isn't available in CarPlay. It's incredibly annoying switching between interfaces and sometimes dangerous too, which brings me to my next point.

Usability
Shocking is the word I'd use. No, really. It is.

I challenge you to use a touch screen display while driving along at 120km/h. Landing your finger on the correct point is hit and miss and at one point, I found myself swerving slightly so I instantly gave up.