Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

shieldyoureyes

macrumors 6502
Original poster
Nov 1, 2005
Uppsala, Sweden
This is my first attempt at HDR taken with my D50. I was really happy with the results. I would love to hear your critiques and thoughts.

218949277_8c8be717a0_b.jpg

218948579_9031a7349f_b.jpg

218948110_58a8959a98_b.jpg

Peace,

Matthew

spicyapple

macrumors 68000
Jul 20, 2006
Nice! :)

Did you take multiple exposures or from one RAW image? The first photo with the rippling water might pose a problem with bracketed exposures but it looks really nice! Do you use Photoshop HDR or Photomatix?

seenew

macrumors 68000
Dec 1, 2005
Brooklyn
Cool.
I think it would help us if you showed one of the middle-exposure shots, to give us an idea what it would look like non-HDR.

Abstract

macrumors Penryn
Dec 27, 2002
Location Location Location
Yes, I'd like to see them as well.

The 1st and 3rd photo were obviously HDR to me, but that 2nd photo doesn't look like an HDR. I don't know if HDR photos are supposed to clearly look like HDR photos, or whether you're supposed to go for a more natural look and trick the viewer into thinking that you really took the photo that way. :confused:

shieldyoureyes

macrumors 6502
Original poster
Nov 1, 2005
Uppsala, Sweden
I'm not really sure either, but I like the finished product. I think they look like a mix between a painting and a photo, but they definately look more "fake" than other HDR's i have seen. I will post the originals in the morning when i get up

Gee

macrumors 65816
Feb 27, 2004
London, UK

ksz

macrumors 68000
Oct 28, 2003
USA
Nice work!

Now we can see just how limited our camera's sensors are today. Their dynamic range is less than that of film, which in turn is less than that of the human eye.