Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

wheezy

macrumors 65816
Original poster
Apr 7, 2005
Alpine, UT
I've been shooting in RAW for about 4 years now since I bought my first Rebel, and I have no idea how many images I've stacked up. I always worked on laptops with smaller hard drives and my pictures ended up all one main folder with way too many subfolders that I would create as I went along. And I have a mess.

Today I started to migrate and consolidate EVERYTHING into my Aperture Library. Right now I'm at 18,300 images and maybe 15% done? Maybe? I have no idea really. My goal is to have everything in the library by Feb 1st. Then I'll start to catergorize and delete and make smart folders and really utilize the file organizing of Aperture. (I used to reference which makes it messy too.)

What are your Photography Resolutions this year? Has anyone else had to move a *&^^%load of images into Aperture?

CrackedButter

macrumors 68040
Jan 15, 2003
51st State of America
Mine is to shoot less but get the ratio of winners up. I have 8000 in my library from 1 project alone split into various project folders. I'm quite meticulous anyway apart from tagging which I find boring and not as easy as I would like it to be in Aperture.

dllavaneras

macrumors 68000
Feb 12, 2005
Caracas, Venezuela
Now that I've been shooting solely in RAW, I've been considering moving all my pics to a Lightroom or Aperture based workflow. iPhoto has been good enough so far, but it really bugs me that for every RAW file it makes a jpg.

Apart from that, tagging is one of my main resolutions this year. I'd like to have my 30,000+ pics tagged by July. Oh, and shoot more! I've had trouble finding the time to really shoot lately.

wheezy

macrumors 65816
Original poster
Apr 7, 2005
Alpine, UT