Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

yetanotherdave

macrumors 68000
Original poster
Apr 27, 2007
Bristol, England
I am quite new to this, I have a Nikon D40 with the kit 18-55 lens.
I hate using the flash, and although I can mostly compensate for it with ISO and apeture settings, I think having VR on the lens would really help me get clearer shots as the exposure is often slightly too long for handheld.
I also sometimes want a longer zoom, if the 18-55 lens I have had VR I would just get the 55-200 lens and be done, but I'm missing VR on the 18-55 range.

So, I'm looking at the kit lens for the D90, 18-105 AF-S VR, it gives me a longer zoom (but not as long as the 55-200), VR accross the whole range and means I don't have to worry about changing/carrying lenses.
I plan to sell my current lens on ebay to cover some of the cost of the 18-105 (but would have to keep it with the 55-200) and the eventual plan is to get a D90 body once I've proved to myself that I'm really into this and it's not a passing hobby.

Thoughts/opinions? (there's a link to my photo project in my sig if you're interested in seeing my photos, not all of them are recent photos though)

OrangeCuse44

macrumors 65832
Oct 25, 2006
The 18-105 VR is all I have at the moment and can safely say it will do exactly what you're looking for. I have yet to pick up a tripod (hoping Santa brings one) so all of my shots have been hand held. I've taken a bunch at night, never with the flash, and about 99% appear with no blur whatsoever. From what you are wanting, the D90 kit lens will do the trick perfectly.

mattyb240

macrumors 6502a
May 11, 2008
If its to long for hand held, VR won't make a difference. Have you tried a tripod? Is your ISO at its highest setting?

yetanotherdave

macrumors 68000
Original poster
Apr 27, 2007
Bristol, England