Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

JonD25

macrumors 6502
Original poster
Feb 9, 2006
I was hired to do my first wedding gig. Unfortunately, gear is limited since I'm still pretty new to this. I have a Canon Rebel XT, and I think I need a better flash than the one on the body. However, money is also limited. So, with that, can anyone suggest a good external flash in the $150 or less range that will work well with weddings and portraits? Or is $150 not even enough for it to be worth it? I may be able to go up. I just don't want to blow my entire paycheck from this gig on a single flash when I don't even use flash all that much.

mpw

Jun 18, 2004
need a good flash for a wedding...
I found this one;
arg-shy-flasher-70-url.gif

but for a wedding you'll probably be after something more formal, with a morning coat rather than plain mac. Do you know if the bridal party are in any particular colour or theme?

carlgo

macrumors 68000
Dec 29, 2006
Monterey CA
This sounds like you might want to rent a big flash so you can bounce it off the high ceilings found in most wedding type buildings. Maybe you could get away with a smaller flash, that you could use for other things later, if you scout out the locations(s) and find that the rooms involved are smallish and painted a light color. Practice a lot first. Beware of Bridezilla. You are brave.

I got that little 400 flash for my D40 and find that the bounce feature is very useful for all sorts of indoor use and for outside fill. The exposure is really handled very well in auto mode. I presume that Canon has similar units.

OreoCookie

macrumors 68030
Apr 14, 2001
Sendai, Japan