Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

iSimx

macrumors 6502
Original poster
Sep 26, 2007
Hi I'm looking for a cheap but good macro lens for an EOS Canon 400D. Not sure which one to get. I'll be taking photos of insects and flowers close up.

Preferably on Amazon.co.uk

Thanks

Mousse

macrumors 68040
Apr 7, 2008
Flea Bottom, King's Landing
If you want to do macro cheaply, get an extension tubes and slap it onto a 50mm.:cool: Don't worry about image quality issues. All that empty air causes 0 image degradation. It'll a challenge to focus at first (no auto-focus or unreliable auto-focus at best), but once get a bit of practice in, it gets easier.

There are macro filters you can attached to the front of your lense, but I have no experience with those. I don't know how well they work. But they're also fairly inexpensive.

Finally, there are macro lenses (the work the best), but can be expensive. Scratch that, they ARE expensive. Usually twice the costs of a similar non-macro variant.

bertpalmer

macrumors 6502
Apr 12, 2007
The cheap option would be a Sigma 105/2.8 Great image quality and fairly well built. The downside is, it is slow to focus and a bit noisy. If you can live with that it is a great lens. I used to own it but in the end upgraded to...

I'd recommend you spend the extra and get the Canon 100/2.8 macro - but that much extra in image quality but the ultrasonic focus motor really makes a difference for quick and quiet focussing.

toxic

macrumors 68000
Nov 9, 2008
extension tubes, manual focus lenses, or cough up $400 for a 60mm macro.

neutrino23

macrumors 68000
Feb 14, 2003
SF Bay area
You leave a lot of leeway between price and quality.

One of the better macro options, IMHO, is the Sigma 70mm f/2.8 EX DG lens. Incredibly sharp and flat focus. Price about $400 US.