Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Taipan07728

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Oct 20, 2007
New Jersey
I am looking for a macro lense to use with my Nikon D40. I am a beginner photographers and looking for a good lense under $500 that I can use for flower closeups. Autofocus would be nice but I am not opposed to manual. Does anyone have any suggestions on compatable lenses? Thanks!:)

Butthead

macrumors 6502
Jan 10, 2006
I am looking for a macro lense to use with my Nikon D40. I am a beginner photographers and looking for a good lense under $500 that I can use for flower closeups. Autofocus would be nice but I am not opposed to manual. Does anyone have any suggestions on compatable lenses? Thanks!:)

For slightly less than double that amount you can get the 85mm F2.8 Macro Micro-Nikkor PC (tilt/****) lens on the used market. For flower shots it cannot be beat, seeing how the tilt function gives you almost infinitely more control over DOF, can get you much more or much less DOF than a standard lens. It's fully manual however (except for contacts that report Aperture in the viewfinder) but it's supposedly the sharpest lens in the Nikon line. For better focusing, however in low light, a full frame dSLR works best

Abstract

macrumors Penryn
Dec 27, 2002
Location Location Location
If you're interested in doing macro photography of flowers, one of the shorter 50 mm, 60 mm, and 70 mm macro lenses would serve you best. They give you more depth of field than the 105 mm and longer macro lenses, which may be desirable for certain shots. After all, flowers tend to be larger than most insects.

If you want to take macro photos of insects as well, then I think the Nikon 105 mm macro lens (without VR) is good. You won't get AF, but it's a sharp lens. If you want AF, get the 105 mm VR macro. :) I have one, and the VR has been useful.