Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Ash9414

macrumors 6502
Original poster
Apr 25, 2010
United Kingdom
So I'm planning on buying a new 13" MBP w/ Touch Bar over the next few weeks to replace my mid 2010 model (see signature for details). The problem is, I'm still undecided on what specifications I should go for. Unfortunately, as I'm in the UK, I haven't yet been able to go and check them out in the Apple Store.

I am having difficulty choosing between either 8GB or 16GB of RAM, and also whether to go for the 256GB or 512GB SSD. My current MacBook has a 250GB hard drive, that is now about 20GB away from being full after almost 6 years. I am a postgraduate researcher in the field of computational modelling, and as such, most of my work involves writing scripts, data analysis and typesetting scientific papers. I also like to code in my free time, mainly writing apps and website development, which will mostly involve using XCode and Visual Studio (now that it's coming to macOS). This will probably mean I will have to run VMs at some point. As well as this, I often use graphics and 3D modelling software such as the Adobe CC suite and Autodesk, browse with multiple tabs in Safari, listen to music through iTunes, make presentations in Keynote, and some casual gaming. Nothing else immediately comes to mind at the moment, but I am sure there are a few other things on top of what I have already listed.

I'm hoping for it to last me at least 5 years, just like my current MBP, and remain snappy throughout that period as further updates are made to macOS. I'm not sure whether I intend to sell it on afterwards, if that's important to know. What specs would you recommend for me to be able to achieve everything mentioned above?

Thanks in advance.

cerberusss

macrumors 6502a
Aug 25, 2013
The Netherlands