Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Val-kyrie

macrumors 68020
Original poster
Feb 13, 2005
I am finally going to begin developing a website but I am completely new to web design and computer programming.

My goals: to post articles on a weekly basis, to post audio and video of lectures, to post papers I have written in the past. Eventually, I would also like to allow for comments on my posts. I would prefer to focus on creating content than managing a web page, but I am a quick study.

Considerations:

1) Software
I have a copy of Rapid Weaver 5 and some themes which I picked up years ago in a bundle but I never found time to learn to use the program. Recently I purchased a copy of Rapid Weaver 7 which came in a different bundle, so I think I would like to start with that. I have also seen suggestions for Blocs and Sandvox. I am not sure if I want to use WordPress, but I might look there too. Since I am just beginning, I am uncertain of the pros and cons of various programs.

2) Type of Web Page
I would also appreciate help figuring out if I would be better designing a static or dynamic web page. I have read about their differences and it seems that dynamic web pages might be easier to update, but again I don't know. Is it possible to create a web site with both static and dynamic pages?

3) Programming Languages
From what I have read, it would be useful to learn HTML5, CSS, and JavaScript. I have seen courses for learning these languages in bundles on StackSocial, but I have no idea if taking such courses would be helpful or which courses are most helpful (there are several "developer" bundles).

Edit:
4) Type of Web Site Design
I have read cursorily on Responsive Web Design. What would I need to learn or what program would I use to ensure my web site is easily viewable on both desktop and mobile screens?

I appreciate any assistance you are able to offer.

Last edited:

olup

Cancelled