Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Woodrow72

macrumors member
Original poster
Nov 16, 2008
Utah
I think that I am in need of some studio lights. I have an inside shoot coming up in a week or so and would like to purchase some studio equipment.

I have basic studio knowledge and know how to use strobes and flashes to achieve the lighting ratios I am looking for.

The problem is there is so much out there I dont know what to get. I do not need the top of the line equipment yet. I mainly shoot on site with one assistant so I dont think I am ready to use strobes on location. But for my occasional indoor shoot I would like to have the equipment I need.

Here is the equipment I have
Nikon D90
SB-900 Flash
SB-600 Flash
Tamron 35-70 2.8
Nikon 50mm 1.8

I have been looking at this setup, mainly because of price
http://www.cowboystudio.com/product/c04/p0402-02.php

My price range is between $200-$600

compuwar

macrumors 601
Oct 5, 2006
Northern/Central VA
I think that I am in need of some studio lights. I have an inside shoot coming up in a week or so and would like to purchase some studio equipment.

I have basic studio knowledge and know how to use strobes and flashes to achieve the lighting ratios I am looking for.

The problem is there is so much out there I dont know what to get. I do not need the top of the line equipment yet. I mainly shoot on site with one assistant so I dont think I am ready to use strobes on location. But for my occasional indoor shoot I would like to have the equipment I need.

Nikon D90
SB-900 Flash
SB-600 Flash
Tamron 35-70 2.8
Nikon 50mm 1.8

I'd skip cheapo low-powered strobes. If you just need to do some portraits, get some modifiers and another SB600 and some stands for what you have.

Paul

jampat

macrumors 6502a
Mar 17, 2008

Nikon D90
SB-900 Flash
SB-600 Flash
Tamron 35-70 2.8
Nikon 50mm 1.8