Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

SolracSelbor

macrumors 6502
Original poster
Nov 26, 2007
Im really torn between which of these cameras comes out superior. I like the Rebel because it has Auto Exposure Bracketing which helps A LOT with HDR photos. To tell you the truth, I don't know how else to make good HDR photos without this, unless i manually change the expusure settings before each picture which gets really annoying since the camera may move slightly causing a blur after HDR has been rendered.

I hear alot of good things with the D40, but not so much with the D40x. Ive read people saying the D40x is not worth the extra price because of its low flash sync and because its 10mp capabilities causes more noise and that "Megapixels aren't that important"

As you can tell I am a beginner and have been toying around with Kodak Easy share cameras for a whuile and I would like to step it up. Thanks for the help!

Merry Christmas!

PS: How about the Nikon D80?

SLC Flyfishing

Suspended
Nov 19, 2007
Portland, OR
Well since you said it right there at the end I'll say that out of your choices I'd pick the Nikon D80.

The viewfinder on that camera is way better than any of the other 3, it has a screw drive for older autofocus lenses. And it's built much more solidly than the Canon XTi.

If you want a 10 megapixel with the bracketing like the XTi and better dynamic range, check out the Pentax K10D. Popular Photography's online technology editor made an entire HDR how to book that you can purchase, his weapon of choice in the endeavor? the Pentax K10D.

The link for the book is here: http://www.oreilly.com/catalog/9780596510176/

SLC

ChrisA

macrumors G5
Jan 5, 2006
Redondo Beach, California
Im really torn between which of these cameras comes out superior.