Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Glmnet1

macrumors 6502a
Oct 21, 2017
I can't vouch for ebay sellers for Apple products, I never tried it. One thing to verify is that you're comparing apples to apples when looking at ebay offers, sometimes it seems like a good deal but it's actually for an older device.

The educational discount is about 10%. You can also look at the refurbished Apple store, they usually give about 15% discount and they're as good as new.

Last edited:

smallcoffee

macrumors 68000
Oct 15, 2014
North America
Are the people who sell refurbished MacBook pros on eBay reputable? They advertise a 3 year warranty, and upgrades. Here is one listing, for instance:
https://m.ebay.com/itm/MacBook-Pro-...Y-Core-i7-2-0-16GB-1TB-OSX-2017-/172978991490
I can’t really afford a brand new one. I’m a teacher, so I think I could also get a discount from Apple, if I go that route.
Thank you!

Hi Kate.

The first thing I'd like to ask is... what do you plan on doing with your computing device?
The second thing I ask is... what is your approximate budget?

I think if you are able to concisely answer those two questions the forum could help you out a lot. With a budget, it's important to narrow down the most important things you need so you can look at a product lineup and then see which device fits your needs best. You might need a 15" MacBook Pro, you might need an iPad Pro. Hopefully we can help.

SurfaceBookUser

macrumors member
Nov 13, 2016
Personally I wouldn't place any value in a warranty offered on eBay.

Apple is holding an event on the 27th with an education theme. There's rumors that an affordable (< $1000) replacement for the MacBook Air may be announced. If you're like a lot of other people, and the current MacBook Air would meet your performance needs but the display is a deal breaker, you might want to at least see what they announce.

Reactions: Apple_Robert

MichaelDT