Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

jeslynmo

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Jun 15, 2009
Hi there
I'm a newbie to the forum and pretty new to the Mac community in general.
I'm having trouble getting my Macbook Pro to read my Compact Flash card reader. I can put it in my windows machine and it reads fine, so it's not the card. I reformatted the card in my camera the last time this happened and it worked fine for a few weeks. Now it's not working again, and this time it is full of pictures from my baby's first birthday party. I don't want to reformat and lose those pictures (isn't that what will happen?)
And I don't want to use my dinosaur (slow) windows computer to upload and edit the pictures and then transfer to the internet.
Even just getting them off the card and copying them onto a CD would take all day with that thing!
Any suggestions for getting Mac to recognize the card reader?
Thanks for any help you can give :confused:
Jessica

Phrasikleia

macrumors 601
Feb 24, 2008
Over there------->
Strange. Have you tried moving it between USB ports on your Mac? Is the card reader connected to a hub and not directly to the Mac?

You might also try uploading the photos through your camera instead of using the card reader.

bdj33ranch

macrumors regular
Apr 19, 2005
In my experience with card readers on Mac and Windows I have had mixed results. It may have something to do with the phase of the moon. Anyway, do you have access to another card reader? Some work better than others. Or, can you hook your camera up directly to the Mac and bypass the card reader? Also, Make sure you hook directly into a computer based USB port - not to the keyboard USB and not to a USB hub. And some computer USB ports seem to work better than others. It's all magic.

jeslynmo

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Jun 15, 2009
need help with card reader

Thanks for the replies!