Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.
B

Bokser

Original poster
Hi everybody!

Just wanted to let you know that this forum helped me immensely with the transition to Mac OS X and with the decision to buy a Macbook Pro :)

I decided to ask a question regarding the lens I plan to buy, here as well...;)

So, here it is, I have two options:
1) Canon 70-200mm IS 4L ~1100$
2) Canon 70-200mm IS 2.8L ~2000$

These are both expensive lenses and are supposed to be superior, this is why I wanted to invest "in glass", which I will use with my modest Canon XSi.

The question really is which lens should I buy, and if the 2.8L worth the extra 900$? I shoot portraits, indoor, outdoors, nature. I am not a professional photographer, however I believe one doesn't have to be one to enjoy the sharpness and quality of L lenses.

The 4L version of the 70-200mm is much more attractive in price, and it is said on many forums that it is actually sharper at apertures>4 than the 2.8L version at equal apertures. Weight of both is not a factor for me.

What do you think is the smart move here?
On the one side I want to save some money, on the other side I want to get the 2.8L so that I dont regret later and psychologically know that I got "the best". But is it really "the best" :confused:

Thanks so much in advance :)

taylorwilsdon

macrumors 68000
Nov 16, 2006
New York City
Take advantage of the exchange rate and buy from someone in the US. You can buy a lightly used 70-200 f/2.8 IS for $1500 in the US.

That will make your decision easier, I think.

The F/4 version is actually sharper, but... you can't shoot at f/2.8, so if you need low light, you need f/2.8.

apearlman

macrumors regular
Aug 8, 2007
Red Hook, NY
Two thoughts