Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

vaio_v

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Dec 22, 2016
I am an owner of a Mid- 2014 13' MacBook Pro 2.8 GHz Dual-Core Intel Core i5, 8 GB 1600 MHz DDR3, Intel Iris 1536 MB, 512 GB SSD in macOS 10.15.4, and a 64 GB iPad Air 2, as well as an iPhone 11. I am a junior in college and have had the MacBook Pro for all of my college years. However, I am not quite sure as to how dated my laptop is, as it handles everything pretty much flawlessly. I have saved up some money for an upgrade of either my MacBook Pro or the iPad to an iPad Pro.

I need some advice as to what you think i should upgrade. I am a Business student, but a geek when it comes to owning power. I do not see myself getting the 16 inch Pro, but thinking of either the 2020 13'', or the 13'' iPad Pro. I need to take class notes, and do Business and Finance stuff on it, primarily (group collaboration, Skype etc). Do you think my MacBook is still worth keeping or should I get the trade in value? Will it start getting slower with macOS 10.16? Also, my Air 2 has been getting noticeably slower and slower and would like to get some more use out of it, but it's getting limited.

Do I go with the 2020 MacBook Pro, or the iPad Pro? YouTube recommends everything based on benchmarks and video editing, but I want to hear what people here have to say based on experience or judgement! Any kind of advice is very appreciated!

JustAnExpat

macrumors 65816
Nov 27, 2019
>However, I am not quite sure as to how dated my laptop is, as it handles everything pretty much flawlessly.

If it's still working good, save your money.

>I need to take class notes, and do Business and Finance stuff on it, primarily (group collaboration, Skype etc)