Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

snapperjet70

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Dec 27, 2008
I recently bought a Nikon D40 and love it. But I am needing to get a lens for sports pics inside a gym.. primarily taking basketball and volleyball pics. Needs to be lower on the cost scale - I am a teacher. I currently have a 18-55 mm lens.

Or can someone tell me the best way to set this one for better pics. I can change my manual settings to a higher ISO and and lower my shutter speed.. but the pics are still too dark.

Any suggestions?

Thanks

luminosity

macrumors 65816
Jan 10, 2006
Arizona
Most school gyms are terribly lit. I have a Nikon D300 and a 50mm 1.8 and most of my action shots were still at no better than 1600 ISO. That should tell you something.

However, the 60mm AF-S worked well for the time I had it. You may want to try that. Other than that, thanks to the D40, you're looking at either third-party glass or slow Nikon glass. Or very expensive Nikon glass (like the 70-200).

ChrisA

macrumors G5
Jan 5, 2006
Redondo Beach, California
I recently bought a Nikon D40 and love it. But I am needing to get a lens for sports pics inside a gym.. primarily taking basketball and volleyball pics. Needs to be lower on the cost scale - I am a teacher. I currently have a 18-55 mm lens.

Or can someone tell me the best way to set this one for better pics. I can change my manual settings to a higher ISO and and lower my shutter speed.. but the pics are still too dark.

Any suggestions?

Thanks

So the 55mm lens gets you in close enough? Then you don't need a longer lens. Your problem is that the D40 lacks an in-body focus motor so the best, least expensive lens options are not available to you. For example a low cost 50mm f/1.8 would be great but not on a D40. The new 50mm f/1.4 AF-S costs about the same as D40.