Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

beachdawg

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Jan 27, 2009
I'm a graphic designer and I'm looking to print some high quality photographs from home. I'm looking to replace an Epson R200. Can someone recommend any good home printers in the $100-$200 range? It seems almost all printers have gone to all in one's.

Some printers I am considering...

Epson 1400 (a refurb from epson for $160)
Epson RX 680 (all in one printer...I'm guessing this replaced the r200?)
Epson Artisan 700 (all in one printer...newest from their line)

has anybody used any of these printers or has a printer that they just LOVE?

I'm a graphic designer and I'm looking to print some high quality photographs from home. I'm looking to replace an Epson R200. Can someone recommend any good home printers in the $100-$200 range? It seems almost all printers have gone to all in one's.

Some printers I am considering...

Epson 1400 (a refurb from epson for $160)
Epson RX 680 (all in one printer...I'm guessing this replaced the r200?)
Epson Artisan 700 (all in one printer...newest from their line)

has anybody used any of these printers or has a printer that they just LOVE?

Your best bet is to increase the amount your spending from 100-200 to around 300-400 and buy used. That will open to door to vastly superior models.

You should stay away from all in one printers and you are definitely wrong in that most printers are going that route. There are still a ton of options available that are not all in one printers.

beachdawg

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Jan 27, 2009
well I just meant that I can't walk into best buy any longer buy a non all in one printer. they used to sell the r1400 in there. i know i can still find them online, it's just been frustrating that the stores themselves have gone that route.

so it's worth paying the extra $200 for say the r1800 or r1900 from epson?