Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Ilzx

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Dec 16, 2016
Been lurking around most of the time and this is my first post.

I need an upgrade from my old Asus laptop and was thinking of getting either the MacBook pro 13" tb/512GB/2.9ghz/8GB or the 13" ntb/512GB/2.0ghz/8GB

I am a student so I will mostly be using this for word, and presentations, as well as run certain bioinformatic programs. I will also be using photoshop and lightroom quite a fair bit as I do photography as a hobby. Would like to have my laptop to be able to do light gaming from time to time (I don't play very intensive games as I have a console). When at home, I also have an external display that I plug it into.

My concern on the 13" ntb would be the 2.0ghz processor and that it only has 2 ports as compared to the tb version. On the other hand, I've been reading of all kinds of glitches with the tb version. Although the battery life seemed to improve with the 10.12.2, I'm rather concerned about the glitching on the touchbar that happened to some people. I honestly don't care for the touchbar. Wouldn't kill me to not have it.

Would the 2.0ghz processor be enough for what I do, and for future proofing? And for those who are using the ntb version, is the lack of ports very inconvenient?

Upgrading the processor on the ntb doesn't seem very worth it for me as that would amount to the same price as the 512gb/2.9ghz tb version from where I am from.

If anyone who has experience with both laptops can give me some advice I would really appreciate it! Thanks!!

skids929

macrumors 6502a
Mar 24, 2011
Do you have a budget? Is it somewhat elastic? If it is I think the TB model is the better long term investment with 16GB of RAM. Have you used Mac OS before? Personally I think coming from an Asus you will be thrilled with either!

raqball

macrumors 68020
Sep 11, 2016