Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

camperdown9

macrumors regular
Original poster
Hi

I have been using my iPhone's for the past 18 months or so to take a few pictures. However they don't print that well and I think its about time that I got a digital camera.

I want a camera that will take photos that can be printed to a reasonable quality.

I want a camera that's not to big.

I want it to work with places on iPhoto.

And its got to cost less than £400.

Any suggestions?

Alex

Galarina

macrumors member
Jun 27, 2009
You could also consider buying a small DSLR for £400 (e.g. Nikon D40x) and use your iPhone as a GPS data logger to geotag your photos.

I made an iPhone app specifically for this purpose: GeoLogTag.

TheSVD

macrumors 6502a
mate, my canon 1000d cost me £400 :) (DSLR)
Though if not that, maybe that panasonic lumix FZ um, something or other ( i forget, someone will know what i mean, you know that real good p&s?) a High end fujifilm (i like the s2000HD myself, cause it does 720p video and you get all the manual controls like a dslr) or a high end canon p&s.

My 2 pence ;) seeing as your british, lol :p

globalmark

macrumors member
May 3, 2008
Most are very simular these days for the Price range , I have been through several Brands over the years , Sony (never seem to last Long) olympus I have come Back to several Times , very good Value the small Olympus u (mui's) they are called are great , and can be waterproof/shockproof models,
Bonus with Many olympus they make there own Underwater cases so if you go on Holiday Diving/snorkelling you can get great cheap Housings for them.
Many other makes sell UW cases for them but not so cheap and good .

otherwise I would recommend Nikon or Cannon also

Thats my 2cents worth Hope it Helps

wixberry

macrumors member
Oct 8, 2009
Jakarta
A decent pocket camera: sony, olympus will do what you wanna do...