Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Grammarnat

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Dec 15, 2016
Hi everyone!

Firstly, I'm new to the forums so I'm looking for some enlightment. I'm also new to buying macs (though I have had iphones and ipads in the past).

A friend of my mum's is selling their imac for £550, and I'm trying to figure out which imac it is, as, oddly, they haven't actually told me.

The specs are:

i7 Processor
12gb Ram
2TB HD
27 inch Screen

While I realise this isn't much I was hoping there might be some bright spark on here who might be able to help me out! I've provisionally said yes, barring it being pre-2012 (I've heard that the 2011 imacs have some crashing issues?), but as they're bringing it to me on Sunday, I'm not sure they will get back to me before then.

If anyone could help me I'd much appreciate it!

Grammarnat

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Dec 15, 2016
Those specs are extremely vague. Do you have a picture, model number or other info?

Hi Redheeler,

Unfortunately I don't at the moment! I have just texted the guy I'm buying the imac from so I'm hoping I will get some info fairly soon, though it's pretty late here.

Another question to add, with those specs, would a 2011 imac still be ok for that price? I'll be using it for mostly word documenting, a little web browsing and some photo editing.
[doublepost=1481841330][/doublepost]Just gotten a text picture of the imac, though he still isn't telling me what gen the mac is - should I be worried?

Attachments

• IMG_0143.JPG
    IMG_0143.JPG
    1.9 MB · Views: 200

Taz Mangus

macrumors 604
Mar 10, 2011
Hi Redheeler,

Unfortunately I don't at the moment! I have just texted the guy I'm buying the imac from so I'm hoping I will get some info fairly soon, though it's pretty late here.