Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Echoes1024

macrumors member
Original poster
Feb 10, 2006
hey guys, I took these shots in the UAE. I was wondering what's wrong with them... a friend whose also a photographer thought they lacked a subject.

I told him the entire frame is the subject, I wanted to capture the boats as well the coast and the buildings in the background. But I don't know, is he right? Do these images lack a subject?

Also, its the same shot in B&W and in color. Which one do you like? I really like the nostalgic feeling the B&W gives off.

408858533_dd5e9b14d7_o.jpg

408851371_874dab7e47_o.jpg

I'd really appreciate any sort of comments on this, positive or negative.

Thank you!

PlaceofDis

macrumors Core
Jan 6, 2004
i am by no means a photography professional. but heres my take on it....

they do seem to lack a bit of focus. the sky is rather plain, if thats your focus, and the buildings lack any sort of priority given their proportion to the rest of the photo. i did a quick crop that seems to my eye bring things into better proportion and focus.

just my two pennies.

Attachments

• 408851371_874dab7e47_o.jpg
    39.5 KB · Views: 96

b0tt094

macrumors 6502
Sep 2, 2006
I would have to agree there is no clear cut subject. I personally believe that with a more clear subject and a more appealing sky the picture would appear 10x better

Georgie

macrumors member
Aug 25, 2006
Columbus, Ohio
i am by no means a photography professional. but heres my take on it....

they do seem to lack a bit of focus. the sky is rather plain, if thats your focus, and the buildings lack any sort of priority given their proportion to the rest of the photo. i did a quick crop that seems to my eye bring things into better proportion and focus.

just my two pennies.