Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

What should i buy?

• MBP 13" 2009-2011 as secondary laptop

Votes: 3 50.0%
  • MBP 15" 2009-2010 as secondary laptop (just because is worth the money more than MBP 13 2009-2011)

Votes: 0 0.0%
  • Wait some time, save money, sell my ASUS, buy a MBP 15" from 2012 or higher

Votes: 3 50.0%
  • MBP 13" 2009/2010 to see if i like it, and after 1-2y sell both laptops and buy a newer MBP 15"

Votes: 0 0.0%

• Total voters

L.Ovidiu

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Apr 28, 2016
Hello everyone, i'm new on this forum and same on "macbooks world", so don't blame me so hard if i'm asking something wrong.

First of all, i'm a student and i'm working as a web designer from home which demands the use of 1 browser with 5-15 tabs opened, sometimes even more, photoshop and illustrator for banners, logos, image touch-ups, generally medium level usage, not for very complicated things as rendering, at all.

Right now i'm using my 15" Asus ROG Sieres (i7-gen 4, 8gb ram, samsung ssd + hdd, nvidia 950 gtx, full hd display, and so on), a pretty powerful gaming laptop which works very well for my needs of web designing.

But, i'm very interested of buying an macbook pro, because of its design and functionality (i've done some research, and i found that MBP are very long lasting with some upgrades, even desktops from 2006 with maxed ram and ssd upgrades are working very well.

My interest in macbook started because sometimes when i'm staying in bed with my ASUS ROG laptop is kinda heavy, so i thought that a macbook pro 13" second hand fits very well for me.

Ok i need a macbook, but what model? what year? 13" or 15"?I'll explain to you which situations i need to debate:

A] MBP as secondary laptop: