Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Milfin

macrumors regular
Original poster
Jan 26, 2008
I'm not a professional photographer but I do like to take tons of photos when I go on vacation.

Yesterday I got back from vacation and found myself using the old point and shoot and Camcorder more than my SLR!!! Pictures/Video turned out well but it bothers me that I only used my SLR around 5% of the time.

Has anyone ever got into this funk and what do they do to get out of it?

gkarris

macrumors G3
Dec 31, 2004
"No escape from Reality...”
Depends on your habits.

Try enlarging or cropping those P&S Pics, or taking pics in low light.

I sold all my film equipment and bought a like-dSLR. I took it out only a few times and got frustrated with the noise in the pics.

I ended up getting a dSLR system and won't look back.

P&S are fun and you don't have to lug an SLR with lenses around, but as long as you shoot in ISO 100-200.

I did a comparison:

https://forums.macrumors.com/posts/7286385/

Hard to go back to a P&S after that...

What P&S do you have, pic samples?

kallisti

macrumors 68000
Apr 22, 2003
I guess my question would be: looking back, why were you not using your DSLR more? Bulk? Weight? Hassle of having to change lenses? Fear of it getting stolen/damaged? Needing to lug around a dedicated bag?