Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

l008com

macrumors regular
Original poster
Jan 20, 2004
I'm an independent Mac tech and I use NetBoot all the time to repair people's Macs. I switched to it way back when Apple started removing Firewire ports. I knew I needed a different way to get in to broken Macs, and NetBoot had lots of advantages (work on multiple Macs at once, different operating system version etc)

So for many years now, I've run Server on my laptop, loaded up with OSes from 10.3 Panther to 10.13 High Sierra. The laptop itself is always current, running High Sierra 10.13.1 right now.

Well right now, my netboot server is not working. I don't know why. I'm also not sure if it was working when I originally upgraded from 10.12.5 to 10.13.0. I *think* it has worked under 10.13 but I'm not certain.

The problem is the following error. Any client trying to boot off of my server get this error, regardless of which netboot images they choose:

FUDmALk.jpg

I know the images themselves are good. I have all of the same images on a mac mini home server also running NetBoot Server. All the images work off of that server just fine. And I've re-copied them all to the laptop just to be safe, still nothing. FYI the home server is still only on 10.11. Haven't gotten around to upgrading yet.

When googling this problem, you only find one instance over it. And the solution is to delete the NetBoot image folder and re-create it. I've tried that and it did not work. I turned NetBoot off, deleted all of the files entirely, turn it back on, then recopied my images into the new folder. Still nothing.