Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

dubs

macrumors member
Original poster
Jun 14, 2007
I will be going to Asia for the next year, and need to purchase a new digital camera. I was wondering what are some good cameras? I was hoping to get a decent zoom, and at least 4-5 megapixels. Also, my price range is around $500 or less, would SLR good a good portable option or no? Also, it needs to be somewhat portable, I don't want to have to carry around any lenses, or flash stuff with it, decent durability would be nice as well.

Any help would be really appreciated as I am a large digital camera newb, thanks.

swiftaw

macrumors 603
Jan 31, 2005
Omaha, NE, USA
I will be going to Asia for the next year, and need to purchase a new digital camera. I was wondering what are some good cameras? I was hoping to get a decent zoom, and at least 4-5 megapixels. Also, my price range is around $500 or less, would SLR good a good portable option or no? Also, it needs to be somewhat portable, I don't want to have to carry around any lenses, or flash stuff with it, decent durability would be nice as well.

Any help would be really appreciated as I am a large digital camera newb, thanks.

Sounds like you want a point and shoot rather than an SLR. How about the Canon Powershot SD1000, it's 7.1 megapixels and is about $220 from amazon

dubs

macrumors member
Original poster
Jun 14, 2007
Sounds like you want a point and shoot rather than an SLR. How about the Canon Powershot SD1000, it's 7.1 megapixels and is about $220 from amazon

Thanks for the reply, although I do have some experience with point and shoots, I was wondering, would a Nikon D40 be a reliable option? I plan on taking thousands of pictures while I am there, and as I look at the pictures posted by various members, I see that the D40 is a popular camera.

Thanks again.

swiftaw

macrumors 603
Jan 31, 2005
Omaha, NE, USA