Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Mr_Brightside_@

macrumors 68040
Original poster
Sep 23, 2005
Toronto
Hi all. Finally have the money to get a dSLR, and am stuck between the two above options. At first, I didn't even realize the 30D was an option, but then I noticed its price on B&H (where I plan to order from, cheap even though I'm in Canada), which is exactly the same as the XSi's. So, I was looking for opinions about the merits of each, and essentially which one to ultimately buy, as well as lens recommendations. I have about $1100 to use, so bear this in mind. Also, this will be my first dSLR; I've used many but have never owned; my current kit which I've been using variously for 3-4 years includes a Pentax MX, Minolta Dynax 500si, and a Canon P&S SD400, all of which I've been extremely satisfied with (to note, my main reason for going digital is the cost of 35mm, to be honest I think I prefer it for most things). My uses for the camera will be many- I'm not looking to buy it for exclusively portraits, landscapes, etc, and I plan to use it next year extensively should I get into Ryerson Photography (if any of the faculty are reading this, could you please let me know soon? Cheers)- if I don't, I'll still use it, though obviously not as much (re: Humanities).
This is how it goes:
  • 30D= 799 (Or 709 used- is B&H good with used products? Seems like they are, good policy too.); XSi= 799 [both body only]
    30D= 8MP; XSi= 12 (don't care)
    30D up to ISO 3200; XSi 1600
    30D= 1/8000; XSi= 1/4000 (just in case...)
    30D= 2.5" LCD; XSi= 3"
    30D= CF; XSi= SD etc
    30D= 5fps; XSi= 3.5fps (don't care)
    30D= 1390mAh; XSi= 1050mAh (I assume bigger is longer?)
    Both have 9 focus points