Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

baseballduck

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Jul 10, 2008
Hello everyone. This is my first post. I have just purchased a new iMac as well as a Nikon D40. I have never used a DSLR before or even a 35mm SLR. I am hoping to take up photography as a serious hobby. Any tips or suggestions on what the best medium is for beginners? I.E. nature, buildings, ect. I don't have any editing software yet, but my birthday is coming up in August so I'm sure my parents will get me Aperture or something of that sort. Is that overkill for me? Any advice is appreciated.:cool:

Thanks, Tyler

Hmac

macrumors 68020
May 30, 2007
Midwest USA
First step IMHO is make sure you understand the fundamentals of photography ie exposure, exposure, exposure, lighting, focus, depth of field (other stuff)...then work to understand the editing process. IOW, in the beginning your artistry has to be secondary to technique. A beautifully composed photograph of a wonderful landscape, an interesting building, a great sports event, or an interesting person etc is far less satisfying if your focus is bad, your depth of field is bad, or your exposure is off. You need to understand how to make your camera capture what your mind's eye sees.

If you already understand these things, then never mind. If not, I'd suggest a course in photography, or at least buy one of the many technique or exposure books on the market. IMHO, the money you spend on expensive editing software might be better spent on a photography course.

baseballduck

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Jul 10, 2008