Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Kamerynn

macrumors member
Original poster
Aug 28, 2009
County Durham, UK
Hi all,

It's birthday time fast approaching and I've decided I'd like to get a new lens for my D70. I currently have the kit lens, a Nikon 50mm and Sigma 70-300.

I'd like to go for a VR lens as my hand holding is appalling but a tripod is not always practical.

Bare in mind I'm a beginner so I don't need anything flash, just something to help me get a less blurry picture :) Budget is max 200 notes, need to save some pennies to go on one of Doylems courses later in the year.

Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

Kam

jackerin

macrumors 6502a
Jun 29, 2008
Finland
Budget is max 200 notes
I shoot Canon myself, but I can't think of a lens for 200 that would be a significant step up from the kit, seeing as you already have a 50mm.

Also note: with small budgets, lights will always give better bang for the back than lenses.

OreoCookie

macrumors 68030
Apr 14, 2001
Sendai, Japan
I would recommend you get a 35 mm f/1.8 Nikkor or a 35 mm f/2 Nikkor. If you can push your budget a teeny bit, go for a used Sigma 30 mm f/1.4. These lenses do not have VR, but you don't need it: they are much, much faster than the 70-300 mm and you can take pictures in darker rooms since you have a much larger initial aperture.

My Sigma 30 mm is my favorite lens at the moment.

El Cabong

macrumors 6502a
Dec 1, 2008
What kind of pictures are turning out blurry? If they're action shots, you don't need VR. If they're long exposures (say, one second or more), then VR won't help.

Kamerynn

macrumors member
Original poster
Aug 28, 2009
County Durham, UK
Hi,

Not all my photos turn out with blur, I take loads in the hope one turns out OK. But even pictures of static items I manage to get some shake in.