Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

GreyFox1221

macrumors regular
Original poster
Apr 16, 2005
In my quest to become the best photographer I can be, I've come here to ask for your help. Any input would be great. The only thing I did to this picture so far was add a tighter crop.

Attachments

• 100_1531.jpg
    100_1531.jpg
    100.4 KB · Views: 207

tykles

macrumors member
Dec 12, 2004
Colorado
Honestly - and I'm a total rookie, so this is a response more as your intended audience than as a pro - I think the crop is way too tight. It's hard to tell exactly what's going on (how high is he, etc) and he is sort of falling off the side of the image. Can you post the original (uncropped) pic?
I'm not trying to be a hater - I just think we're missing out on some of the context by having such a close crop of the athlete - I'm sure people more involved in shooting athletics have better feedback though.
I checked out some of your other photos - I really like the other high jump shots as well as the head on shot of two men racing hurdles. nice work.
tyler

tykles

macrumors member
Dec 12, 2004
Colorado
Or how about this? The guy;s head down at the bottom (plus the extra space) gives a better sense of height to me. I also like the even tighter crop that Chip posted.

highjump2.jpg

Attachments

• highjump.jpg
    highjump.jpg
    121.9 KB · Views: 86

gibbon

macrumors newbie
Aug 2, 2005
Scotland
Hi. Great photo!
I agree the shot looks better when cropped to show more underneath the guy illustrating what he has achieved rather above the guy showing what he hasn't! Makes it more dramatic and accentuates the feat by showing the vertical.