Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

parajba

macrumors 6502a
Original poster
Apr 19, 2008
Hi everybody,

I'm relatively new to dSLR, I owned a Canon 35mm in the past and a Canon Ixus 40 P&S, very good P&S imho.

I would like to buy a new dSLR, I always liked photography. Did a few courses in the past but have still lots to learn.

I narrowed my search to the following cameras:

- D90 with 18-105 VR kit (£719 with cash back)
- D5000 with 18-55 VR kit (£479)
- Canon 500 with 18-55 kit (around £600)

I'm not interested in other brands, it has to be either Nikon or Canon. Non interested in 2nd hand either.

I checked many (many!) on-line reviews and they all seem to suggest that the D90 is a very good camera.

The D90 with 18-105 VR kit lens is my favourite right now. I don't have any lenses right now, so the AF or the brand is not a problem for me.

I also understand that it'll be replaced soon. Do you think I should wait until the D90 successor is out to get an even cheaper price on the D90?

I'll have a baby in 3 weeks and this is one of the reason why am thinking of getting a decent camera...

Thanks for your help!

leighonigar

macrumors 6502a
May 5, 2007
What do you want to do with the camera? I am most familiar with Nikon stuff, but people seem to often suggest that the EOS 550D has the best video mode. Is this important? It might be if you're having a baby. I know this isn't one of your current options.

Have you held these cameras? When I got my first DSLR I went into the shop thinking 'the EOS 300D has good reviews, and it's cheap, I'll get one of those'. I came out with the Nikon D70 because I preferred the body and the lens (and also in those days the Canon was SLOW). It is definitely worth finding somewhere with the cameras. Jessops generally have them if you're not near a good independent store.