Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

coolchap

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Nov 9, 2016
Hi Experts,

Finally, I have ordered used Macbook Pro 13" 2015 Model on eBay, hope it's in good condition/well maintained.
So, I am being thought to switch to MAC OS for a long time as I fed up with Windows OS.
I am being a Software Developer, I am very good at Unix and Linux systems and heard the mac OS is Unix based OS(correct me if am wrong).

I need your valuable suggestions/recommendations how to start learning the MAC OS being Unix Person, whether it adds any advantage on learning? does mac OS has Terminal like Unix/Linux to run Unix-like commands and perform automation using shell script etc.,?

Do I need to rely on GUI on Mac OS like windows or I can do many things in Terminal using Unix-like commands?

What is the best to start with learning MAC OS? Please share your thoughts, it would be much helpful.

leman

macrumors Core
Oct 14, 2008
On its core, OS X is a heavily modified fork of FreeBSD with some custom systems on top. It offers some of the best automation facilities of any contemporary customer OS I am aware of (with launchd, Automator and system-wide scriptability via AppleScript or EcmaScript). Also, the integration of Terminal and UI in OS X is exemplary, with commands that allow you to seamlessly switch between command-line and Finder, control the clipboard as well as start apps. Some pointers to start out:

- read the manpages of launchd and open
- check out http://brew.sh — a very nice package manager for OS X
- I would recommend you the book "Mac OS X and iOS Internals: To the Apple's Core" by J. Levin, it provides some very nice overview of the system and its components
- read through the Apple's developer documentation, they have some very detailed technotes about the low-level details of the system (e.g. kernel subsystems etc)